The Orange Prize Project

February 11, 2008 at 10:19 pm 2 comments

The Orange Prize is another excellent list to mine for reading choices, and I’m happy to be participating in The Orange Prize Project. Coming into 2008, I have read 14 books from the Fiction winners and shortlist (possibly 15–I read an Amy Tan book once, and it may have been The Hundred Secret Senses, but I couldn’t swear to it), and 1 from the New Writers winners and shortlist. In 2008, I plan on reading reading another 6.

Orange Prize Winners and Shortlisted Books I Have Read
2007
Half of a Yellow Sun, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – WINNER
The Inheritance of Loss, by Kiran Desai
A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers, by Xiaolu Guo
The Lizard Cage, by Karen Connelly – NEW WRITERS WINNER

2006
On Beauty, by Zadie Smith – WINNER
The History of Love, by Nicole Krauss

2005
We Need to Talk About Kevin, by Lionel Shriver – WINNER

2002
Bel Canto, by Ann Patchett- WINNER
Fingersmith, by Sarah Waters

2001
The Blind Assassin, by Margaret Atwood

2000
White Teeth, by Zadie Smith

1999
The Poisonwood Bible, by Barbara Kingsolver
Paradise, by Toni Morrison

1997
Alias Grace, by Margaret Atwood
I Was Amelia Earhart, by Jane Mendelsohn

I’ll be tracking my progress at the right under The Orange Prize Project, and I’ll be crossposting my reviews at the challenge website The Orange Prize Project.

Entry filed under: books, reading. Tags: , , .

The Complete Booker The Costa Book Award

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura  |  February 12, 2008 at 10:42 am

    We’ve read many of the same novels from this list Chris! Funny about the Amy Tan; I had a similar reaction and had to go look up the “blurb” to verify I’d actually read it!

    Reply
  • 2. cabegley  |  February 12, 2008 at 11:17 am

    I did look up the blurb to see if it jogged my memory, Laura, but it didn’t help. The only thing I really remember from the Amy Tan I read is a bit about a hundred year egg–and that it didn’t inspire me to read any other books by her.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A Year of Reading

The Reading Nook Archives