Arabian Nights and Days

January 28, 2008 at 6:52 pm 4 comments

Arabian Nights and DaysArabian Nights and Days by Naguib Mafouz (fiction, 228 pages)

(Please note: In this review, spellings differ from my review of Arabian Nights below. In each case, I used the spellings of the edition.)

My first experience with Naguib Mahfouz was his wondrous Cairo Trilogy, a saga of three generations of an Egyptian family from WWI to the overthrow of King Farouk I in the 1950s. He stopped writing for a time after that, and his work when he resumed was more allegorical and existential. As a reader, I have struggled to understand Mahfouz’s underlying messages in his later work, with mixed success.

Such is the case with my experience of Arabian Nights and Days. I could definitely appreciate it on the surface, and I understood some of what he was getting at, but I felt that the true meaning was tantalizingly beyond my grasp.

Arabian Nights and Days picks up where Arabian Nights left off, after the sultan Shahriyar renounces his former bloodthirsty ways and looks forward to a long married life with Shahrzad. Although she does not voice it to the sultan, Shahrzad does not meet this new attitude of Shahriyar’s with unalloyed joy, since his renunciation of his past acts does not erase the bloody past. Also, his reign of terror has resulted in a city where the good, for the most part, are dead or have fled, and the remaining citizens (and their governors) have more than their fair share of corruption.

The story that follows is a struggle between the inhabitants of the town, human and genie alike, towards good or evil. Shahriyar, going beyond mere words, often goes out into the city in disguise at night, attempting to bring himself closer to goodness. Many of Shahrzad’s stories find life in the town, and many characters from them reappear in different guise. The characters (and the readers) learn lessons of goodness, and strive (but do not always succeed) to follow them.

Mahfouz does not follow an easy path, and there are no easy answers or endings in this book. As always, his writing is beautiful and contains much to think about. There were several passages I read over again, to savor the words and the meaning behind them. This is a book I will turn to again, in hopes of understanding more.

2669 / 36600 pages. 7% done!

6 / 7 owned prior to 2008. 86%!

2 / 25 nonfiction. 8%!

2 / 7 global/translation. 29%!

Entry filed under: books, reading. Tags: , , .

My First Meme Assigned Reading

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jill  |  January 28, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    I have Palace Walk sitting on my shelf, waiting patiently for me to read it. I believe Avaland/Lois recommended it to me many months ago. I hope to read it in 2008. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the series as well as his later works.

    =) Jill

    Reply
  • 2. Christopher  |  January 29, 2008 at 12:40 am

    Your review of Arabian Nights and Days, reminds me I must read more of Naguib Mahfouz’s novels.

    I’ve only read one – “Respected Sir”, about the life of a young man joining the Egyptian civil service as a clerk. It follows his path up the bureaucratic ladder, and makes us realize that government servants are essentially the same wherever in the world they live.

    Have fun in your future reading.

    Reply
  • 3. cabegley  |  January 29, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Jill, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. I read the trilogy while I was on vacation in Canada, and I remember spending great swaths of time out on the balcony of our hotel room reading and not wanting to put the book down to go anywhere else.

    Christopher, I haven’t read Respected Sir–did you enjoy it? I want to read more of Mahfouz, but I think I’m more comfortable with his earlier, more straightforward works (like the Cairo trilogy) than his later ones, although I really long to understand him more.

    Reply
  • 4. Saturday Review of Books: February 2, 2008 at Semicolon  |  February 25, 2008 at 12:28 am

    […] sweetpotato (Charlotte’s Web)71. Lisa (Great Expectations)72. Dawn (The Dark Sisters)73. Chris (Arabian Nights and Days)74. Jill (Two Brothers)75. BookGal (Swann)76. The Reading Zone (Peak by Roland Smith)77. Darla D […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A Year of Reading

The Reading Nook Archives